2021 Awards

Congratulations to the 2021 Award Winners

The 2021 AAES Annual Meeting was a great success! We would like to congratulate the 2021 award winners. 

Oliver Cope Meritorious Achievement Award

Dr. Janice Pasieka was presented with the prestigious Oliver Cope Meritorious Achievement Award. This award is given to a member of the AAES in recognition for contributions in the field of endocrine surgery as an investigator, teacher, and clinical surgeon. It is not an annual award but is only given to members of the Association who have achieved the high standards for which the award was established. The Cope Award was first given in 1985 and since only 10 members have been awarded this honor. Read more about the history of the Oliver Cope Meritorious Achievement Award.

Paul LoGerfo Research Awards:

Priya H. Dedhia, MD, PhD
The Ohio State University
"Targeting Wnt and IGF2 Pathways in adrenocortical carcinoma"

Brenessa Lindeman, MD, MEHP
University of Alabama at Birmingham
"Immunometabolic Glutathione Pathway-dependent Targeting of Tumor Progression in Thyroid Cancer"

ThyCa: Thyroid Cancer Survivors' Association Award for Thyroid Cancer Research:

Benjamin C. James, M.D., M.S.
Harvard Medical School/Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
"Assessing Objective Financial Toxicity in Thyroid Cancer Patients"

Best Basic Science Paper:

Bixiao Zhao, MD
Brigham and Women's Hospital
"Glycolytic Inhibition with 3-Bromopyruvate Suppresses Tumor Growth and Improves Survival in a Murine Model of Anaplastic Thyroid Cancer"

Best Clinical Paper:

Omair Shariq, MD
Mayo Clinic/University of Oxford
"Clinical Features, Genotype-Phenotype Correctlations, and Treatment Outcomes in Children and Adolescents with Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia Type 1: An International Cohort Study"

Best Posters:

Nasim Babazadeh, MD
Cleveland Clinic
"The Impact of Thyroid Nodule Afirma Xpression Atlas Results on Clinical Decision-Making"

Ujas Shah, MD
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
"How and When Multiglandular Disease Diagnosed in Sporadic Primary Hyperparathyroidism?"

Best QuickShot Poster:

Kelvin Memeh, MD
The University of Chicago Medicine
"Enhancing risk-stratification of indeterminate thyroid nodules using Artificial Neural Network-enabled image analysis"

Best Interesting Case:

Lindsay Kuo, MD
Temple University Lewis Katz School of Medicine
"A 34-Year Old Man with a Large Neck Mass"