University of California, San Francisco



University of California, San Francisco

Duration of Fellowship:

1 year 

Number of Available Fellowship Positions:


Program Director:
Program Director Email:

Wen T. Shen, MD MA
[email protected]

Secondary Contact Name:
Secondary Contact Title:
Secondary Contact Email:

Kelly LaValley
Fellowship Coordinator
[email protected]


UCSF/Mt. Zion Medical Center
1600 Divisadero Street, B611
San Francisco, CA 94115

Phone: 415-885-3755
Fax: 415-885-7617

Objectives of the Program:

To educate and train future leaders in endocrine surgery. To provide in-depth experience in the clinical workup, operative treatment, and postoperative care of patients with endocrine surgical disorders. To promote outstanding clinical and basic science research in endocrine surgery and oncology.

Highlights of the Fellowship:

The UCSF Endocrine Surgery Fellowship offers a high-volume experience in thyroid, parathyroid, adrenal, and endocrine pancreas surgery. The breadth of cases that the fellows participate in ranges from straightforward thyroid, parathyroid and adrenal operations to complex lymph node dissections, reoperative surgery in the neck and abdomen, minimally invasive parathyroidectomy, and advanced laparoscopic endocrine surgical operations, including both transperitoneal and retroperitoneal adrenalectomy. Fellows gain extensive experience in ultrasound, both in the clinic and in the operating room.

In addition to clinical work, fellows are provided opportunities to pursue multiple research projects of their design and choosing, often in collaboration with non-surgical faculty and researchers at UCSF. Prior fellows have performed research in a broad variety of topics, including basic science, clinical trials, outcomes and health care quality, surgical technologies, surgical education, global health, medical history, and medical informatics.

Our fellows complete the year in our program with the necessary skills and knowledge to serve as leaders in endocrine surgery, and many now serve as program directors and chiefs of endocrine surgery at major academic medical centers. 

Average Thyroid Case Volume: 125
Average Parathyroid Case Volume: 125
Average Adrenal Case Volume: 30

Neuroendocrine Tumors (NET):

Number of evaluation & management of NET (enteric and pancreatic only) cases per year: 5
Number of operative NET (enteric and pancreatic only) cases per year: 2
NET Case discussions each year: 3

The fellow has the option to participate in a Multidisciplinary NET (enteric and pancreatic only) Tumor Board which meets once a week.

If the fellow desires, there is an opportunity to engage in a more robust NET experience. They can work with our HPB surgeons with specific interest in NET, as well as medical oncologists with similar interests.

International Medical Graduates -  our program is able to accept a fellow who:

holds an H1-B visa

Fellow must be American Board of Surgery eligible or certified:


Fellow must be able to obtain a full state license:

Yes - California

Special Considerations:


Program Website for More Information:

Program Twitter:


Program Facebook:


Previous Fellows:

2023: Michelle B. Mulder (University of Nebraska), Taufiq Rajwani (Sutter Health Sacramento)

2022: Timothy Ullmann (Endocrine Surgery, Albany Medical College), Stephanie Davis (Endocrine/General Surgery, St. Joseph Hospital/Intermountain Healthcare, Denver CO)

2021: Sarah Serena Sims (Caremount Medical Group, New York), Kathryn Menut (Private Practice, Bay Area)

2020: Claire Graves (UC Davis), Jina Kim (Inova Medical Group, Northern Virginia)

2019: Monica Jain (Cedars-Sinai), Daniela Treitl (Lowell General Hospital, Lowell, MA)

2018: Yufei Chen (Cedars-Sinai), Iheoma Nwaogu (Private Practice, El Camino Hospital, Mountain View, CA)

2017: Holly Rochefort (Private Practice, Memphis, TN), Carolyn Seib (Stanford)

2016: Toni Beninato (Rutgers/Robert Wood Johnson), F. Thurston Drake (Boston University)

2015: Jesse Pasternak (University of Toronto), Natalie Seiser (Private Practice, Van Nuys, CA)

2014: Tony Boganey (Naval Medical Center, San Diego)

2013: Michael Campbell (UC Davis), David Greenblatt (Sharp Clinic, San Diego)

2012: Robin Cisco (Stanford University), Michael Tsinberg (Private Practice, Orange County)

2011: Raymon Grogan (Baylor University), Elliot Mitmaker (McGill University)

2010: Avital Harari (UCLA)

2009: Marlon Guerrero (University of Arizona)

2008: Jacob Moalem (University of Rochester), Daniel Ruan (Norman Clinic, Tampa)

2007: Dina Elaraj (Northwestern University), Rebecca Sippel (University of Wisconsin)

2006: James Lee (Columbia University), Rasa Zarnegar (Cornell University)

2005: Nadine Caron (University of British Columbia), Jennifer Ogilvie (Yale)

2004: Cord Sturgeon (Northwestern University)

2003: Geeta Lal (University of Iowa)