2019 Awards

Congratulations to the 2019 Award Winners

The 2019 AAES Annual Meeting was an great success in Santa Monica! We would like to congratulate the 2019 award winners. 

Best Papers:


Best Posters:

Basic Science:
Ton Wang, MD
University of Michigan
"A novel heat shock protein 90 inhibitor potently targets adrenocortical carcinoma tumor suppression via alteration of long non-coding RNA expression"

Amin Madani, MD
Columbia University
"Defining the Competencies for Laparoscopic Transabdominal Adrenalectomy: An Investigation of Intra-Operative Behaviors and Decisions of Experts"

  Basic Science:
Frances T. Lee, MD
Northwestern University
"An Effective Tolerance Approach for Porcine islet Xenotransplantation in Humanized Mice"

Wessel MCM Vorselaars, MD
University Medical Center Utrecht
"Geographic Validation of the Aldosteronoma Resolution Score"


Paul LoGerfo Research Award Winners:

Mahsa Javid, MD, PhD
Medical University of South Carolina
"The role of advanced glycation end products in thyroid cancer"

Naira Baregamian, MD
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
"Immunometabolic Glutathione Pathway-dependent Targeting of Tumor Progression in Thyroid Cancer"


ThyCa: Thyroid Cancer Survivors' Association Award for Thyroid Cancer Research:

Matthew Nehs, MD
Brigham and Women's Hospital
"Metabolic Inhibition of Anaplastic Thyroid Carcinoma"


Oliver Cope Meritorious Achievement Award

Dr. Quan-Yang Duh was presented with the prestigious Oliver Cope Meritorious Achievement Award. This award is given to a member of the AAES in recognition for contributions in the field of endocrine surgery as an investigator, teacher, and clinical surgeon. It is not an annual award but is only given to members of the Association who have achieved the high standards for which the award was established. The Cope Award was first given in 1985 and since only 10 members have been awarded this honor. Read more about the history of the Oliver Cope Meritorious Achievement Award.