INSTITUTION NAME + LOCATION

Monash University Endocrine Surgery Unit, Alfred Hospital, Melbourne, Australia.

FELLOWSHIP TYPE AND FUNDING

One year fully funded clinical fellowship.

PROGRAM DIRECTOR CONTACT INFORMATION

Program Director: Professor Jonathan Serpell, MBBS, MD, Med, FRACS, FACS, Alfred Hospital, 55 Commercial Road, Prahran, Victoria, 3181, Australia.

Email: jonathan.serpell@alfred.org.au

Staff: Professor Bill Johnson, Mr Simon Grodski, Dr Meei Yeung, Miss Sarah Kemp, Dr Kate Martin, Dr Melanie Walker, Mr James Lee.

FELLOWSHIP AIMS

The fellowship aims to train surgeons who wish to undertake careers as leaders in academic Endocrine Surgery. There is an extensive experience in the clinical and operative management of all endocrine surgery conditions. The fellowship aims to promote clinical research in endocrine surgery and surgical oncology.

FELLOWSHIP DESCRIPTION & CURRICULUM

The Monash University Endocrine Surgery Unit an annual case load of over 700 Endocrine Surgery cases, including 550 thyroid cases, 150 parathyroid cases and smaller numbers of other endocrine surgery cases. There is also significant exposure to salivary gland and melanoma surgery. There is a substantial clinical workload and outpatient clinics, daily operating sessions and weekly multidisciplinary meetings in Endocrine Surgery. Fellows will be exposed to a full range of operative surgeries, both as independent operator and assistant. There will be an opportunity to develop skills in clinical ultrasound and nasopharyngoscopies. The appointee will be expected to fully participate in teaching and clinical research programs, present at meetings and publish their research work. The unit has extensive databases in all areas of endocrine surgery, including a dedicated thyroid cancer database.

ELIGIBILITY

Candidates should have completed training in General Surgery and be able to participate in the surgery emergency on-call roster. Please provide an updated CV and two letters of recommendation.

RECENT GRADUATES

Dr Stacey Woodruff (USA) 2009-2010

Dr Sze Ling Wong (Canada) 2012 – 2013

Dr Navin Rudolph (Australia) 2013 – 2014

Dr Paula Chang (USA) 2014 – 2015

Dr Andrew Kiu (Australia) 2015 – 2016